Sunday, March 2, 2014

Choosing You Blog Tour Stop

Synopsis of The Jade Series:

The Jade Series is a New Adult Romance that follows the relationship of Jade and Garret in their first year of college. In Choosing You, book 1, Jade and Garret meet on Jade’s first night at Moorhurst College and despite their strong attraction to each other, they’re not allowed to date because of the strict rules that control Garret’s life. In Knowing You, (book 2), Garret breaks the family rules and begins dating Jade. Their relationship grows deeper but issues from Jade’s past complicate matters. Loving You (book 3) shows Jade and Garret growing closer as a couple but also hints at the trouble that lies ahead in Promising You (book 4), in which a new challenge emerges for Garret that could interfere with the future he wants with Jade.
 Choosing You Synopsis:

When Jade is given a scholarship to an elite private college in Connecticut, she sees it as a chance to finally escape her painful past and get a fresh start. She’s determined to succeed and that means keeping her focus on school and not guys. But her plan falls apart her first day on campus when Garret, a rich prep school boy with swimmer abs and a perfect smile, offers to help her move in.

Jade tries to push him away, but she can’t deny her attraction to him and Garret won’t let her. Things quickly heat up between them, but then come to a sudden halt when reality hits and Jade realizes that a relationship with Garret may never be possible. He comes from a world of wealth where there are rules, including rules about who he can date. And not following those rules has consequences.

As the two of them try to overcome the obstacles working to keep them apart, Jade is confronted with another challenge. On her 19th birthday, she receives a letter that her now deceased mother wrote years ago. In it are revelations that explain her traumatic childhood but also make her question the past she’s been running from.

I remember seeing the cover of this book by Allie Everhart and couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. I received it during the day on Friday and couldn’t wait to get off of work so I could devour it. Devour it I did, as soon as the kids were in bed that is. It completely held me captive and I can honestly say that I had to pick up the other 3 books in the series, and you will too once you read Choosing You.

So what’s it about? Jade had a troubled past. She grew up with an alcoholic/drug addict mom and the idea that she hated her. She had no one but Ryan, her adoptive older brother, and his father Frank. Going to college seemed like an amazing thought, a fresh start, and a way to get away from her past. Jade’s sole focus was going to be on school, not boys, and definitely not parties. That is until Garret helped move her into her dorm and decided to become the friend she didn’t want. The problem wasn’t in the friendship, it was in the feelings he invoked in her.

Trust. It’s a hard thing to do when you have a hard background. We’ve all been there, we’ve all been in Jade’s shoes at one point in time. It’s when you can’t trust anyone because of past experiences, but you somehow give them your trust anyways because you believe in them. In that strange connection buzzing around inside of you, but what happens with they test that trust? When something as little as not saying who you really are, leaves you feeling like a fool, and you realize that maybe trusting them wasn’t the best option. Jade put her trust into Garret to have it come back at her. Did she overreact, maybe, but honestly I would have felt the same way. Did he deserve a second chance, sure, and she gave it to him.

Garret has his own demons. Coming from a wealthy family, there’s certain obligations he has to face, rules, as he calls it. There’s only so much you can take before you snap. When he meets Jade, all those rules are up for the breaking, and he breaks them. Not without consequences though.

On her 19th birthday, Jade receives a letter that her mother wrote to her when she was a baby. In the letter it says something that has Jade putting pieces together. Calling Frank in hope of him denying the allegations, but when he doesn’t, Jade may have just opened up Pandora’s Box. So what happens now? You’ll have to read the next book to find out, I know I am!

I haven’t been in a reading mood lately, I guess you can call it a slump, but this book has definitely peeked my interest. It not only has the romance I seek in books, but it also holds a mystery. Who’s Jade’s father? What secrets can Garret’s family possibly hold that keeps them at the top? And where does this leave Jade and Garret? All questions I can’t wait to find answers to in the next few books! If you haven’t started the Jade Series, you should totally get on that, like NOW!
Allie Everhart Bio:

Allie Everhart writes about dating, love, and romance. She’s also a freelance health writer for magazines and websites. Before freelancing, she was a book editor for a publishing company where she worked on several New York Times bestsellers. She loves to read as much as she loves to write. And when she’s not reading or writing, she’s outside running, which is when she gets her best book ideas.
Buy Links: 

Author Links: 

No comments:

Post a Comment